Philothea
Life in the JVC

Signs of summer

June 17, 2003
Summer is here. I broke out the sidewalk chalk today, and Em already broke one. She's deathly afraid of bugs, and she calls all of them "bees". Except when I lift up rocks for her to see underneath, then she's fascinated and calls them worms and ants.

The groundhog is back with three little ones. They built houses where her habitat used to be, so I think she's living under our neighbor's shed. She could always come back to our yard, but perhaps it has bad memories.

The Kennedys are also out. They live down the street from me, but I don't know their last name so I call them the Kennedys because I always see a gaggle of little boys out in the front yard playing sports. I think they live next door to each other because they've basically combined the yards. One of the Dad's floods his front lawn every winter so they can play ice hockey. How cool is he?

11:50 a.m.
prev :: next