Philothea
Life in the JVC

Friends don't let friends watch Friends

June 19, 2003
It's TARsday!

I started watching The Amazing Race this summer, because there were so many banner ads for it at Television Without Pity , paid for by the fans of the show. So I watched the first episode and now I'm hooked. I want to race, and Aunt Maria said she would be my partner. I don't think they've ever had an aunt/neice team, so we might have an advantage.

So everyone should watch this show. Thursdays at 8 p.m. on CBS. Friends is in reruns, so check it out. I'm going to quote the TWoP recapper Miss Alli because she puts it much more eloquently than I can.

Unlike Survivor and Big Brother and shows of that type, I always believe that for a lot of these folks, it really is a valuable experience whether they win or not. You can look at these guys and know that they're not just fodder lying beside the road, like early evictees from the Big Brother house. They're still a great story, and that's one of the many reasons why it drives me out of my freaking mind that this show has to try to scrape up ratings against the likes of The Bachelor while Survivor coasts along on its endless supply of vain whiners. I like the fact that alliances are fairly useless. I like the fact that you can pretty much only win or lose on your own. I like the fact that speaking a foreign language and being kind to strangers and staying calm under pressure do more for you than having the ability to double-talk people into a coma so they don't know you're gunning for them. I like the fact that when I think about Thailand, I have Pai Plong Beach and the flower market in my head, and that when I think about India, I can see the Taj Mahal as well as the swarm of people around Momily's car, and that I know what Namibia looks like and what a township in South Africa looks like and that Seattle is the airline gateway to Anchorage. This is a good show, dammit. Keep it up, y'all. All, right, end of Bad Time Slot Pep Talk.

12:21 p.m.
prev :: next