Philothea
Life in the JVC

I hope her two isn't terrible.

June 08, 2003
Today was Emerald's second birthday. We went to church and stayed in the crying room. Em is really called "the pretty girl" by the other kids. Gee, like her head isn't big enough already. Then we went to Lollypop Farm, the local Humane Society. They have cats, dogs, bunnies, chickens, goats, and horses up for adoption. Once they even had a pet rock someone left. Emerald had a great time, but I felt bad because I wanted to adopt them all, but with my allergies I'll probably never be able to have a furry pet. I'm having so many problems with our cat this summer, and I'm taking Claritin. We have to keep him in the cellar, and I feel so bad when I hear him meowing.

Then we had her favorite meal, hot dogs and beans, and I made her red velvet cupcakes with Elmo candy on top. I figured red was her favorite color, but the cake stained everything. Not a good idea to feed a two year old.

Trevor is her godfather and I'm her godmother, so I asked him today, "So, uh, how is Emerald's spiritual education going? Anything we need to do?" I gave her my old plastic rosary that I used to chew on as a kid, and she tied it to her little car. Well, my parents take her to church every week, there's not much more I can do at this stage of her life.

Today I marveled that I had a sister. For about 15 years it was me and four brothers. She's already stealing my jewelry and anything else pretty she sees, and next week she's moving in with me, so I'll even share a room with my sister. My sister! Wow, that's still amazing to me. Happy birthday sister!

11:42 p.m.
prev :: next