Philothea
Life in the JVC

Haven't I been sick enough this semester?

May 01, 2003
I know I was grounded from the Internet, but I have a lot more time now because I can�t go anywhere! I have a nasty stomach bug, so I missed my last Classics classes ever, and now I�m missing Serfass�s reception at his house for the Roman Religions class, and a fun dinner in Columbus with my senior seminar. Oh well, we were going to a vegan restaurant and from the review Dr. Bennett showed us, it looked like everything had mushrooms in it. What if I choose not to eat fungi, huh?

James is so sweet. I always feel guilty when I borrow his laptop, but I can�t be walking around and I�d get everyone else sick in the computer lab. Last night I didn�t even get anything new done, because I had to retype my 20 page comps because I�ve lost the disk it was on.

I need to pick some pictures to go in the yearbook. They said they put between 3-5 seniors on each page and we can say with whom we want to share the page. I asked Amy the photographer and my freshmen year roommate, but I don�t know who else to ask. I don�t want to be on a page with someone I can�t stand or some random fratboy. My suitemates will surely be on the page together, since they�ve been friends for over 8 years, and all my other friends who started out in my class have left or dropped down to juniors.

I was thinking over whether or not to ask James. It�s always sad in high school when somebody used their senior quote to tell their significant other they loved him or her, and then inevitably they would break up before the yearbook came out. Our yearbooks are so slow, they don�t come out until two years later, and lots of things could happen between us in that time. But then James has been one of my closest friends since freshmen year, and he�s always been there for me, even when he was in Japan and I would send him e-mails ranting about this or that. It�s best not to risk it, I guess, although he has withstood the curse of having his own file on my e-mail.

I just got the best e-mail from Bryan II regarding my favorite anti-Catholic professor Mr. Lentz. He really is my favorite prof, he just has a huge Anglican/Southern prejudice against the papists.

One of Lentz's essay topics is so beautiful that I felt compelled to share it with all of you:

"6. Consider human nature (or the human predicament), as the epic presents it and seeks to account for it. Explain Milton's conception, and agree or disagree, on the basis of your own perspectives and beliefs."

Perry, you have just asked for the second greatest Catholic epic to be written! (As I cannot hope to compare to Mr. Alighieri's fine work.)

~B.II

6:08 p.m.
prev :: next