Philothea
Life in the JVC

JVC Interview

April 30, 2003
I had my phone interview with the Jesuit Volunteer Corps today. I was showing Robbie some of the materials they sent me to prepare for the interview, and he said. �I don�t know, Megan, they seem pretty bleeding heart liberal to me.�
�But they�re Catholic bleeding heart liberals, and that makes it okay,� I said.
�Okay, but I wouldn�t tell them that you�re a Republican right out,� he said.

I had a very nice talk with the JVC:East coordinator, although if she used the phrase �social justice� one more time I was going to scream. She asked me if I had ever had a conversation with a person of another race about racism. I felt like saying �Some of my best friends are black!� but refrained. We talked for over an hour, although my phone card cut her off at the end. She basically went through �the four values� of the JVC (community, simple living, social justice, and spirituality) and asked me about them I got a good feeling from the interview, but I�ll find out next week if I�m accepted.

Then James came in to take me to dinner, but I had to call my Mom about some form. She asked me why I was doing this if it didn�t pay me anything, and that I really should be in grad school or earning money. �Hey, at least I�m not going to be a nun!� I said. �Although some women do decide to become nuns after doing this.� That�s what Jeana Visel, the other person from Kenyon to do this program did.

You could imagine the look on my boyfriend�s face when he heard me. �Please don�t become a nun,� he said. �There are many fun things you�d be missing out on.�

Ooh, that reminds me. I got a call from Ann! She�s not allowed to telephone except when making arrangements for visits to the monastery. It looks like I�ll really be seeing her next month.

I won�t be making an entry tomorrow because I am grounded from the internet until I finish those three papers by Friday. Two of them are overdue, so it�s my own fault.

8:18 p.m.
prev :: next