Philothea
Life in the JVC

Porcupine

September 26, 2004
I love the way the clouds cast shadows on the mountains behind my house.
Our mini pow-wow was really fun. About half the kids dressed up in fancy shawls, jingle dresses, or grass outfits. Then later in the day I was playing "Indians and Buffaloes" with the 3rd and 4th graders, and just thinking what a great place this is to raise kids. Everyone has a huge extended family, they're in beautiful surroundings, and its easier to keep the traditions alive. Of course there are problems here, and the unemployment rate is sky-high, but I wouldn't mind living here.

I get so excited when we're going into town, even though we're doing mundane things like grocery shopping and going to Pizza Hut. We stopped by TCBY at the end of our trip, and the guy working there gave us all our ice cream for free. There are benefits to living with beautiful women.

I was driving home after, and going pretty fast, when I accidentally ran over a porcupine. I felt so bad. We stopped to check the tires at the next gas station, and there was one quill still sticking to the back tire. We left it there, because it was so far in we were afraid that we'd let the air out if we took it out. I feel bad. At least I didn't hit an elk or something, because then we'd probably all be dead.

9:36 p.m.
prev :: next