Philothea
Life in the JVC

American Indian Heritage Month

September 21, 2004
Today the Museum of the American Indian opened up on the Mall in Washington. This is American Indian Heritage Month, or, if you don't want to do a whole month, this is the Week, and if you can't do a whole week, Friday is the day.

Matthew and I have been doing a very good job of keeping in touch. It has been very hard being away from him. It was never this hard to be in a long distance relationship before for me. But I miss him so much. But its good, it shows me that I really do want to be with him, if I still think about him so much, want to be with him, and am not distracted by other men when I'm so far away.

Not that there's many men here, but there's a few. On National Public Lands day we met some firefighters who live nearby, who have traditionally been friends with the JVs. Rob said that the JVs traditionally baked cookies for them. I don't think we'll be following that tradition. I like baking-I made cookies for our staff meeting yesterday, but its another thing to have it expected of us by muscle-bound men who probably think they're hot stuff. No pun intended.

I also met a Japanese exchange student who's living in Roy. Now, Roy is so small that people in our town make fun of it, saying "There but for the grace of God I could have been born". She's definitely getting a different view of America than most foreigners do.

3:53 p.m.
prev :: next