Philothea
Life in the JVC

The Senior Exercise for English Majors

March 14, 2003
This is what is going to be on my Senior Examination, which I have to pass to be an English major. The exam is next Saturday, an all day affair.

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight Trans. Marie Boroff.
Shakespeare, The Tempest
Aphra Behn, Oroonoko
Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre
Herman Melville, Moby Dick
James Joyce, Dubliners
Virginia Woolf, A Room of One's Own
Leslie Marmon Silko, Ceremony

I'm also supposed to have read widely in the works of Donne, Wordsworth, Dickinson, and Yeats. I read Wordsworth and Silko this break, and everything else I've read in a college course, though it may have been three years ago. At this point I think I'm only going to skim through Moby Dick again (what makes you think that?). And I just realized that I've never read A Room of One's Own, I only think I have because it has been quoted and excerpted and talked about in so many things I've read.

The list is rather strange. I mean, this can't be what they think are the eight most important works of fiction (although a better case could be made for the poets). The English department is really composed of little factions, so I can see that everybody fought to have at least one of "his" authors on the list. Everyone seems to pass, I think, so I shouldn't be too worried about the exam, but I am, especially about writing essays analyzing the poems. But soon it will be over, and then I can start working on the Classics stuff.

1:25 p.m.
prev :: next