Philothea
Life in the JVC

Another housemate for a day

December 14, 2003
It's odd, several times this week I have made it through a social or work situation only by promising myself that the next day would be spent completely in bed. But I always get distracted by my wonderful housemates offering me something much better to do. Emily and I have been playing a "questions" game with the aid of a book I have, and one was "If you could become anybody else in the world, who would you be?" We both agreed that we wouldn't want to be anybody else forever, but we'd be almost anyone for a few days. So this is what we think people in our house do on a typical day.

Megan as Michelle I go to work and talk to Alice (the Mercy Corps volunteer) for a while. I tutor some formerly incarcerated women in Math for their GED, then I try to figure out what the heck I'm supposed to do here, but my boss is never in. Then I go out to Michael's or Wal-Mart and find a deal on some crafty things that could be used as Christmas presents or for my wedding. The other women in the house come to my room to hang out for awhile while I cross-stitch. Then I call my fiance after 10, becuase my cellphone "after nine" minutes are set from Illinois.

Emily as Beth I would wake up and pick up the things everybody else leave around the house. Then I would take the bus to work, and listen to Ralph talk. Then I would ask some questions and Ralph would tell me more (Ralph is her boss and a well-known activist in the Baltimore area, so he has a lot of stories). Then I would maybe make a phone call. Then I would come home and talk to my housemates, and maybe today is my day to make dinner. Then after dinner-what does Beth do at night? I don't really know. But then she goes to bed at 10, but not before she makes her lunch for the next day.

Megan as Jon I have to get up really early, at about 6 or 6:30. I drive to work and talk to the other teachers for a while. Then I try to teach Biology and Earth Science to my students, but they don't do their homework and there are a few kids who always act up (especially Satan and Satan Jr, two brothers), so I don't teach as much as I planned for the day. I have lunch supervision, and I eat all the free rolls and the lunch lady gets mad at me. I drive to the park after school because I'm the asisstant track coach, but the actual track coach makes me do all the work. Then I come home and lie on the couch under my green blanket and watch TV for a few hours, with a break for dinner. Then I call my girlfriend and make plans for the weekend.

Emily as Chris I wake up early because I plan to go for a run, but maybe it's not a good day out, so I play my guitar for a while. I walk the two miles to work, and work is crazy in the morning and dead in the afternoon, or vice-versa. When it's crazy I have people who just found out they're HIV positive or have relapsed on drugs and are avoiding their appointment with me now, and when it's dead I flirt with all the ladies, especially the lesbians. Then I walk home and I might go to Loyola to work out or play raquetball with Emily, and I end the day with my guitar again.

Megan as Emily I hit the snooze button a few times, then I get dressed. I wear mismatched socks every day, but secretly I always like the way they look together. Then at work-hmm, Emily, I don't really know what you do at work. I guess I file things and go to the courthouse for something. At lunch all the other women talk to me and ask me about my life. Maria tells me she really liked having my roommate Megan over for the Muppets night and that we must get together again sometime. I went to work late, so I leave early (in-joke). Then I go somewhere every night, whether it's the weekly death penalty protest in front of the Supermax prison, an adult-education class, or tutoriing, my roommate can't keep track. Then I come back to my room, but Megan is already in the comfy chair, so I read in my bed. I tell her to turn "big light" off when she gets in bed, and then she keeps me up talking because she has nowhere to go tomorrow morning, although I still have to work.

Emily as Megan There is no normal work day for Megan, but let's say it's a 9-5 day. I wake up at 8:15, cutting it as close as I can. Then I grab a bike and go to work. I guess since it's during the day some of the people are out at work or dialysis, but some of them are still there. And since it's 9-5 there's another aide there too. I talk to the other aide, and get everyone's medicine ready. Then there's a lull, so I watch some TV and eat lunch. Then it's crazy and I mop the floors and have laundry and dinner to get ready for the next person to cook. Then at four I sit down and just wait the hour out. Then before dinner I go to Hopkins and sit in front of the computer for a while, then come home for dinner. Then maybe I sit and watch TV while reading a book. I go upstairs and tell Emily some interesting fact I learned, then turn "big light" off and go to bed.

4:58 p.m.
prev :: next