Philothea
Life in the JVC

Watch out for the icy patch!

December 08, 2003
Saturday night Emily's co-worker Maria invited us to her house for a Muppet's Christmas movie marathon. They supplied the place and the rum, and I supplied the movie. Since Emily and I have no car, we were discussing how to get to their house, which is downtown by Camden Yards. I said we'd have to take the bus, but Emily said we should try to walk it. If we couldn't, we'd take the bus, but if we could, we would save $1.60 and they'd find it so pathetic that we walked 3 miles that they would offer us a ride home, which is what happened. We watched "A Muppet Family Christmas" first, with commercials from 1987 (Osh Kosh B'Gosh and My First Sony!), and then "A Muppet's Christmas Carol", and we all huddled together when the Ghost of Christmas Future appeared. 'Twas quite fun.

Then on Sunday we had "Family Fun Day" which wasn't very fun, but very like a family, with Chris grumbling at us to get out of the house because Jon's car was running, even though we hadn't found the address to the tree place yet. Chris is being so mean to Beth lately. He says he has to make up for her missing out on snow in her childhood, and the way he does that is by putting snow down her neck, throwing snowballs at her, and dumping her in the snow. I can't say it's not funny, because everyone has a different sense of humor, but it's certainly not nice to have a bully in your own house.

But I spend a good deal of my time here being angry at Chris, and it's not worth the effort, so I shall stop, for now. We got a Real Christmas tree, and Michelle and I got to bond, because for us it's always been tradition to have a fake tree, and I'm not used to the dining room smelling like pine.

1:30 p.m.
prev :: next