Philothea
Life in the JVC

Driving a stick

December 20, 2003
I think now that it is colder, my diary entries will taper off. The walk to Hopkins just isn't as fun now. At least I'm better than Beth, who is refusing to leave the house for the rest of the weekend on the grounds that it must be a mistake that it's so cold. Oh Beth, it's only 30 degrees right now. I've been teasing her with the idea of negative numbers, but I don't think they see those that much in Baltimore.

Today I learned how to drive a stick-shift. Matt is lending me my car when he's home in Tennessee. That's good, because if he hadn't, I would have had to take the bus to my overnights, and I don't think it's a good idea for me to do that at night. I did it Thursday though, because no one would come pick me up. Michelle was leaving for home the next day and in a bad mood. "Can't you just take the bus" she hissed at me when she called me at work. I could, but my family, co-workers, residents, and Michelle have told me not to be on York Rd. after dark. I feel safe on the bus, it's just waiting for it that worries me. I made it home okay. At the beginning of the year, my house-mates with cars told me that it would be no problem for them to come get me when I worked the 3-11 shift, but now I think they're getting tired of picking me up. Or sometimes nobody is there, like last Friday, when I took a cab home. But at least I have Matt's car this week, and then the first week of January I'm on vacation, so that will give them some time off.

7:44 p.m.
prev :: next