Philothea
Life in the JVC

This week's reading

2002-06-27
I HATE you Gilbert Osmond! Ooh, he was one of the most evil characters I've seen in a long time. And now the name Gilbert is forever tainted. I used to associate it with my friend Gilberto and Anne of Green Gables, but now I will always think of a cruel voice and perfect taste.

I couldn't think of anything to write, so I'm just going to write about the books I've read lately. I finished Portrait of a Lady, obviously.

I also read a glossy book companion to the PBS series about West Point. It's the USMA's bicentennial this year. My dad's favorite story about a famous person at West Point was confirmed. Dad grew up in Highland Falls and went to West Point for 3 1/2 years (ah, that's another story). Whistler was also kicked out of West Point. His art professor assigned him to make a technical drawing of a bridge. When he went there, there were two little boys fishing on the bridge, so he drew them in. the professor told him he didn't want the kids on the bridge, so Whistler drew another one with them fishing on the banks.

"No, no, I want those boys out of the picture!" the professor said.

So in the next one he put two little tombstones.

12:52 a.m.
prev :: next