Philothea
Life in the JVC

My visit to Kenyon

February 19, 2004
I need to catch up on things I said I'd write about and never did. So today is my trip to Kenyon.

Kenyon is so beautiful, in every season. A big difference from trash-filled Baltimore, which does have its charms. When I first saw it at the age of 17, I thought "It's my secret college on a hill", and it still feels that way.

It was wonderful to be back and to see al my friends. They all seem so grown-up! I guess I remember them as freshmen and not the juniors and seniors they are now. I sort of forgot to tell anyone I was coming, except for Amy and Robbie because he was picking me up from the bus station and I was sleeping in her room. They were the two most important people, anyway. Especially since I hadn't seen Amy in over a year. There was so much I wanted to say to her and yet nothing I had to say to her. That's what's having a best friend is all about. Everyone seemed very happy to see me. The Terrible Trio all jumped on me, and I went to both the Catholic and Episcopalian service to see everybody. Mr. Lentz gave me a hug! I always meant to go to the Episcopalian service when I was a student, but it was on Sunday morning and most of the readings are the same as the Catholic mass the evening before.

It was Phling weekend, so it was crazy. Someone mentioned to me that this was my fifth Phling. And most assuredly my last. My favorite part was the wine and cheese party in Diana, Sara, Amanda, and Rachel the Elder's Taft apartment. I could have skipped the actual Phling after that. We took lots of pictures in their window seat in all kinds of configurations, all the men, all the women, the "dork squad", the people dating, and then someone called for all the seniors. It was almost everyone in the room. It's sort of sad, even though I'm already gone. Phoebe, Amanda, Liz, and Leeman! Sorry, I just got excited about the people who were abroad all last year and I never thought I'd see again.

The theme of Phling was pirates, so they gave out eyepatches and had a pirate captain marrying people. I married Amy and Phoebe. Amy gave her pirate name as "Britney Spears", which he changed to "The Speared Brit".

I had lunch with my Professor Bennett. He's looking good, getting ready to move into retirement in 2006. He told me I should go to Alaska. I love that man so much. Some day I will dedicate a book to him.

Then on Monday Amy and Robbie and I went to Wendy's before dropping me off at the airport. I was randomly selected for a further search of my belongings! They even flipped through my diary and dream diary. I felt so violated, even though it's not like I had anything embarrassing in my stuff.

Okay, tomorrow I'll go into my social justice retreat. I have to get back to cook dinner. Since Michelle left we have $70 less a month for food, but we don't seem to be eating any less, so we're getting a bit low. I think I'll invent a soup tonight.

4:44 p.m.
prev :: next