Philothea
Life in the JVC

Second year

February 17, 2004
I went to the JVC offices yesterday and met with Mary Margaret. She's my area director and she did both her years in Fairbanks, AK and was an area director for Alaska before she came to the East. I told her I wanted to do a second year in Alaska. She said "Of course, there are benefits to staying in the same region for both years" (JVC is run through autonomous regions) but then her eyes lit up and she talked about all the different places in Alaska. I want to go, I want to go! I'm only sorry I can only be in one place.

But why Alaska, Megan? After all, I could find some of the same things in Portland, Maine. But I've never even been west of Ohio. I want to see a different part of the country. And when else would I get a chance to live in Alaska? But it is awfully far away. It might be that I wouldn't be able to come home at all that year. Now that Dad's in a Reserves unit that doesn't go overseas, that doesn't worry me so much, but I would miss all of Emerald being three. But really, she wouldn't remember so much, and I want to settle down in Rochester after next year to be close to her. Sometimes being from such a close family is stifling.

I'm applying.

8:00 p.m.
prev :: next