Philothea
Life in the JVC

No one ever said elves are nice

June 24, 2003
I kept calling my contact at the AIDS house to get an interview, and I could never get in touch with her. Then a week later the woman at the Jesuit Volunteers called me and told me she had given me the wrong number, and the one she gave me was just a voicemail box. So I finally had my interview yesterday. I don't think it went that well, but we'll see. She was surprised that I didn't have a car, since all the other JVs she had known had a car. I wonder if it's mainly rich kids who do this. But the house is within walking distance except at night because the neighborhood is a little dangerous.

Saturday was cold and rainy, so James and I stayed in the car for a while. He had the new Harry Potter book and I had borrowed Pratchett's Lords and Ladies from him again. I think it's one of my favorite Discworld book because it shows elves for what they are, nasty little buggers.

Elves are wonderful. They provoke wonder.
Elves are marvelous. They cause marvels.
Elves are fantastic. They create fantasy.
Elves are glamourous. They project glamour.
Elves are enchanting. They weave enchantment.
Elves are terrific. They beget terror.
The thing about words is that meanings can twist just like a snake, and if you want to find snakes look for them behind words that have changed their meaning.
No one ever said elves are nice.
Elves are bad.

I always saw faeries that way because of reading Celtic mythology. They steal babies, for goodness sake. But because they have style, they get away with it. Like someone said in the book, if cats looked like toads we'd realize how cruel they really are. But instead they're soft and have pointed faces, and make a pleasant sound when they're happy.

8:50 a.m.
prev :: next