Philothea
Life in the JVC

Dad's article

November 26, 2002
The Collegian finally got up their Sept. 11th issue. Go here to see my Dad's article. Below is the response I wrote, which they didn't have enough space to print.

It was almost a relief when we found out he was going in March, because there had been so many false alarms before. He packed up his whole office in November, then found out that mission wouldn't need him. That time I was freaking out, but by the time he actually was called up, I was inured to the shock.

I try to be a good army brat and look at the situation with stoic resolve, but I can't help really missing him. It's hard not having him here for birthdays, my brother's high school graduation, and soon Christmas. It's hardest for my Mom, I think. She's very capable, and has been helping the other army wives in his unit, but she's never been apart from him for so long. My sister was ten months old when he left. My mother put some pictures of him on magnets at her level, and when we say "Where's Daddy?" she goes over to kiss them. But I wonder if she remembers him.

I'm proud of him, and I know that I'm lucky, too. Since he's in the Reserves, the longest he can be gone is two years. Dad can e-mail us if the connection's working, he can call home about once a week, and we can send him letters and packages. Thousands of children lost one or more of their parents in the attacks of September 11th. I think I hate war about as much as anybody, but if what he's doing can prevent another attack and make Afghanistan safer, it's worth it for him to be there. All I can do on this side is write to him, be strong for my family, and pray for his safe return.

6:11 a.m.
prev :: next