Philothea
Life in the JVC

Bats and Latin

December 04, 2002
Today I had my dreaded Latin exam. All I�ve been doing the last week has been dreading it. Yesterday I didn�t even study because all I was doing was crying about it. I even called First Step, and I think I freaked out the girl a little bit because she gave me the 1-800-SUICIDE number as a reference. Then today I went to see Professor Bennett to confess my immense stupidity in all things classical, because I don�t have my outline done. He was very kind and lent me his Penates (cheesy little gods someone gave him named �Agendus� and �Caffiena�) Allie and I each put one in front of us as we took the sight exam. I can�t believe Dr. Weber glossed �et�et� as �both...and�. I may not know much Latin, but even I know that. I think I was better prepared for this one, but I still might have failed it.

When I returned my exam to Weber, I went back to Nu Pi Kappa to pick up my stuff. I already had my coat on because the Penantes were in the pocket, but my bookbag and scarf and hat were still there. All the lights were off and there were no students. I thought that was weird, but I walked over to my stuff and turned on the lights. Then I heard a fluttering and I looked up and saw black wings coming at me. I skedaddled and decided the bat could keep my stuff. I don�t need to do any homework anyway. I remember last year I was eating breakfast in the Great Hall when P. F. Kluge came in. "There's the Devil," I said, because that's his nickname. Immediately following him was a big bat. Speak of the devil...

7:27 p.m.
prev :: next