Philothea
Life in the JVC

My boyfriend's visit to Baltimore

November 19, 2003
I am both sad and heart-tremblingly happy. Sad because James isn't here, happy because I was in his arms just a few days ago.

I met him at the train station on Friday night. When we got home, Chris was the first one to meet him. "I've heard so much about you," James said. "All good, I assure you."

"That's a lie," Chris said equably. And it was, too.

On Saturday we went to the free bookstore, and I showed him around Charles Village. Then we went to Greektown for dinner at Ikaros, and I didn't finish my moussaka but I ate my baklava anyway. This is why I like being an adult. Saturday night was the big birthday party for Chris and Beth, since they're only a week apart. We went upstairs at about ten and just talked for a few hours. I told him that he still felt mysterious to me sometimes. I know how incredibly difficult it is for him to open up to people, and I am grateful for the amount that he has done it for me, but I still want more. And some of the things were things I was reluctant to ask because they were such painful subjects for him, but I was still curious about, like his parent's divorce. He said I could ask him anything I wanted and he would answer honestly. I'm glad, because that was the only doubt I ever had about our relationship.

I asked him where he saw himself in five years. "Ready?" he said. "Steadily employed, and married to you."

"Sounds good to me," I said. Whee! If only we had paying jobs right now, it would be so nice to be married to him. But we'll have to wait until we can get out on our own four feet.

Sunday we went to the basilica downtown. Its the oldest cathedral in the United States. The priest sounded a lot like Jimmy Stewart though, which was a bit distracting. We then went to Video Americain, and awesome rental place that shelves videos by director and actor. We got Labyrinth because James had never seen it, and I'm No Angel with Mae West.

Then bright and early on Moday I saw him off. But he's spending Thanksgiving with me, so I will see him very soon.

Sometimes I am scared by how much he loves me because I don't deserve it. I'm afraid I'll become careless and take advantage of him. I'm daily amazed and grateful to have him in my life. It is a wonderful thing to love and to be loved back. Wow.

5:59 p.m.
prev :: next