Philothea
Life in the JVC

ISTJ

November 22, 2003
On Thursday I had a six hour meeting for work. Everybody took the Myers-Brigg Type Indicator test, and we got our results back there. But before the lady told us, she separated us into groups and told us to come up with our idea of the perfect free day. It was pretty obvious we were the introvert group, although Ann told me once that I was too happy to be an introvert. We would have turned our phone ringer off, slept until noon, maybe go out running or in the garden, and I would have spent the whole day reading and on the internet.

The extroverted group, on the other hand, said "Okay, do we have unlimited funds? Great! We're going to have a professional massage, then buy lots of beer and food and invite all of our friends over!"

I was an ISTJ, Introverted Sensing Thinking Judging. There were 8 ISTJs out of the 26 people who took the test. According to the "Characteristics frequently associated with your type", I am

Well, that sounds like me. The leader of the program said that it was an extrovert's world, and most introverts had learned to mimic extroverted behavior to get along. I know I have, and I've been so successful that Professor Bennett was surprised to learn during Senior Week that I absolutely hated having to give presentations, and I took four classes with him. I've become much better since I was a little girl and looked through the Girl Scout Badge book looking for all the badges that wouldn't require me to talk to anyone, especially over the phone. But still it's a big production to get me to go to a party or to stand up in class. I usually make sure I'm dressed nicely, so I feel confident that no one will be thinking I'm a slob at least. Then I have to talk to myself for about an hour before, saying "Now Megan, these are your friends at this party, they invited you and they will be happy to see you. They'll also be sad if you don't go." Then I go. Usually after about an hour I'm beat, depending on the size of the party and how well I know people. It surprises me to know that there are people who are actually energized by being with lots of people, because it really takes it out of me.

5:11 p.m.
prev :: next