Philothea
Life in the JVC

John Paul II

April 08, 2005

We had a memorial mass for Pope John Paul II this morning. I told Key that it was for the burial of the pope. "Oh, is he being buried here?" she asked. I thought that wasn't a bad idea. There will always be lots of tourists at the Vatican, but imagine the tourism it would bring to Ft. Belknap if he was buried here. I was sad that he died, of course, but I am also a little excited to see who the new pope will be. John Paul II has been the pope my whole life, so this is a big change.

I saw the man who robbed my house at mass. I didn't speak to him, but I didn't give him any dirty looks either. He denied that he had done it when the priests confronted him, but then he left town soon after. Now he's back, and Donna will be teaching his daughter next year.

Its strange being in a small town and knowing all the dirt on people. One of the first graders told his teacher that his Dad killed an eagle last week. He probably did it to sell on the black market. Its illegal for a non-Indian to even possess eagle feathers. Indians can for religious purposes, but they can't kill them. Now there's only one in the mountains behind the mountains. Its illegal to kill an eagle, but its all hearsay, so we can't report him. It makes me so sad to think of that beautiful bird shot down, and his mate all alone.

11:32 a.m.
prev :: next