Philothea
Life in the JVC

Movie night in Harlem

April 04, 2005

We finally got to see a movie in Harlem on Saturday. We've tried to several times, but each time it was a movie we didn't want to see, and there's only one screen.

But this time it was Hitch, a nice light rom-com. My housemates were taking me out to get my mind off of Matthew leaving. The seats were great lounge seats, and there were about 10 people there. The owner, with the easily remembered name of Gerry Adams, said that he kept The Grand open for the same reason we were here teaching, as a volunteer effort. He said that only Indians come to his theater. All the white people in Harlem go to Havre to the multiplex. "And that really annoys this white business owner," he said. I just don't understand all this racism.

I'm missing Matthew a lot. I feel like last week was like a relationship retreat. It was the first time we saw each other in four months, and there's a lot I can't say to him over the phone or in writing. Its good just to be able to lie in his arms and watch a movie with him. I still think he's the one. He's just the most wonderful guy in the world. All my housemates loved his Southern charm. He made us country-fried steak and hot corn cakes on Friday. He can cook too! He subbed for Barb one day, and all the little girls loved him and drew him pictures. Thomeya was really excited because they have the same birthday, and she asked if she could send him a birthday card. Matthew failed to fall in love with Montana like I have. He still declares that Tennessee is the best state ever. "I just need more scenery than a long road with an expansive field on one side and another expansive field on the other," he said. Well, if you need mountains and water, you lack vision. He was also nervous about how fast I drove around. He kept telling me to slow down, and I said "I have slowed down".

"You're still going 80"

"Yeah, that's what I do when I slow down!"

I realized driving back from Billings that I really don't like having a car in front of me on the open road. Each time there was, I would pass it. Once there were two cars going too fast for me to pass, so I pulled off the road to an abandoned ranch and waited a minute so I wouldn't have to see them when I got on again.

5:08 p.m.
prev :: next