Philothea
Life in the JVC

October Retreat

October 07, 2003
This weekend I went on a retreat with my community. The purpose of it was to work towards making us an apostolic community, and also just to relax. I think it went well. We were all able to be honest and open with each other. Maybe it helped that our meeting place was in the chapel. So snaps to God. That reminds me, Beth has gotten all of us, even the Jersey men saying "y'all". I can't help it, it's just such a convenient phrase!

We agreed that despite some hard times, we are doing really well. Seeing the other JV communities just reinforced that. They're still complaining about other people in their community having food issues, while we've been completely understanding about Michelle being vegetarian and Chris only eating free-range meat. So we are getting along quite well in the normal sense, but we need to take it up a level to become a true apostolic community. Like when does my job become more than just a job and become me working for social justice? When does my stipend become more than just "playing poor" and actually choosing a simple lifestyle? When does my spirituality become a true communication with God?

But, as someone pointed out, we've only been together for six weeks. It just seems like a lot longer. I told my Dad that yesterday, and he said "Even the apostles didn't have an apostolic community after six weeks. In fact, I seem to recall them going into hiding after Jesus' death. They only got going after the Pentecost." So I guess I've done all I can do by myself. I need the Holy Spirit to go any further.

12:25 p.m.
prev :: next