Philothea
Life in the JVC

Age differences

July 27, 2004
One more week before I fly to Portland for my orientation. It really hasn't hit me yet. I was out having drinks with one of the JVC staff people yesterday, and he asked me how I felt about doing a second year. I really couldn't say until I get there. I just feel numb about it all. I am going to miss Matthew so much.

This is where I think our age difference comes into play. I'll be 23 on Sunday. He's turning 30 next month. I still have a lot of wanderlust. I want to see the world and have new experiences. He's ready to settle down. The thought of having children right now doesn't excite me. I know from Emerald that they take all your time, and I don't think I'm patient enough for that now. Matt wants to have kids when he's still young enough to keep up with them.

But I've been honest with him about how I feel, and we're going to stay together. One thing I don't feel the need for is to date anybody else, because I know that he is what I want. And I'm glad that he's willing to wait for me to have my adventures.

11:42 a.m.
prev :: next