Philothea
Life in the JVC

Naked youths with goatskins

2002-09-09
The Lupercalia was a Roman festival of great popularity and staying power. It lasted until the fifth century, when a pope finally banned it. Basically, on Feb. 15th, a bunch of young men would get naked and put on a little girdle made from a sacrificed goat. They'd then run around the Palatium hill in Rome and hit people with goat-skins, especially women. Supposedly this helped with fertility. They have no idea how this ceremony got started.

This is why I love Classics. I finished my Latin homework with time to spare today. I was sitting on the stone pillar underneath the tree outside Rosse and fashioning a story like Livy. "The stone had been worn by generations of iuvenes kenyones, and a plant grew where they had planted their asses."

My Amy came by at 11 last night and said she didn't hate me. We had lunch today. Now I feel loved. I really am a silly girl.

11:30 p.m.
prev :: next