Philothea
Life in the JVC

Trip to Glacier

August 24, 2004
Is it Friday yet? I feel so unprepared for a whole week of school. Part of it is that I haven't really got my schedule and what students I'm seeing down pat yet. And part of it is that we spent the whole weekend at Glacier National Park. It was crazy to go over the first weekend but in the end it was worth it.

We went now because our JV friends in Omak, WA don't start school until the 30th, and they wanted to get out of town. And we wanted to spend some time with them over coming on a three-day weekend. Omak is a community of two men and a married couple. It was nice being around men our age again. All the men we see here are priests or elementary students.

The Going-to-the-Sun road was closed halfway up because of a mudslide, so we decided to go for a little hike before lunch that turned into a 5 hour trip up a mountain. The sign said 3.4 miles after we already hiked half a mile, so we figured we'd hike it. We were woefully unprepared. But we heard there was a canteen at the chalet, so the promise of Snickers bars lured us on. And everyone we met coming down said the view was well worth it. And I had to admit that it was, after I rested and ate a bit.

Rob and I decided to go on a midnight walk, but I got scared because of the bears and mountain lions that live there. I kept remembering Barb saying that mountain lions attacked from behind. Then our flashlight died on the way back, so we were stumbling through the forest, praying to God we'd find our way back to the campsite and not get eaten by any animals. Then we stumbled on a tent, probably freaking the inhabitants out good. We asked them if we were in Loop C, and they said yes, probably just trying to appease the lunatics. So we found our way back home. Now that I did it, I'm glad I went for that hike, but next time I'm making sure that I have a working flashlight.

9:07 p.m.
prev :: next