Philothea
Life in the JVC

Three more weeks of work

July 09, 2004
I only have three more weeks of work! Of course, Regenia had to be evil and give me an overnight on my last night, so its not exactly three weeks left. I've never held a job this long. I can't see how people can stay in the same job for years and years.

I am so ready to be done with this year. I'm sick of work and I'm sick of my community, save Emily, of course. I know them so well that nothing they can do can surprise me anymore, and all of their little tics that I find so annoying just get more so as the year wears on.

My parents got one letter from Reagan (he's been at West Point since Jun. 28th). It said "West Point sucks. But in a good way." Well, he's still there, so I have hope.

I went to visit Ann last week, which was really nice. She has an all-white habit now that she took her vows, and we spent the whole time talking, just like last time. I packed my pill-keeper but it only had one pill in it. So I missed taking my thyroid pill on Thursday and it really hit me hard. This is why I usually only forget to take it once a year, if that. The next week I mainly laid in bed thinking "I am so depressed" over and over again, and had panic attacks whenever I had to be around a lot of people. I hate that something so biological can have such a mental and emotional effect on me. And of course, I don't want to think that its just that, so I start thinking of reasons that I should feel depressed. And the only thing I could really think of is that I don't know what I want to do with my life, and I don't know what would have me give the most positive change in the world. But I am still 22, and I do know what I'm doing next year, at least.

I just realized that I probably won't get any TV stations next year. I was looking forward to being a couch potato, since there will be nothing else to do in the evenings there. But the nearest city is 120 miles away. It had never occurred to me before that you could be too far away from a city to get the broadcasting signals. I am such an Easterner.

3:26 p.m.
prev :: next