Philothea
Life in the JVC

The Spirits

2002-10-23
Senior Bible Study was so good this week. We were discussing Romans chapters four and five. �For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord�. We talked about what it felt like to be a slave to sin. For me, it feels like I�ve shut off my brain, and I just act. I don�t think at all about what I�m doing. Then later on, I feel awful about what I did. I don�t even want to go to confession because I don�t want to think about all the sins I�ve committed. But what a wonderful thing to be a slave to righteousness. I've spent so much time reading Latin that I think about libertas and servitia a lot. To be a slave is to do what you're told, go where you are called. It means giving up the mastery of your life. But humans will be slaves to something, because we are weak. The only choice we have is what we are slaves to-something that will destroy us or something that will give us eternal life.

A lot of strange things have been happening since last week. Last week my old suitemate Cynthia felt something sit on her bed. It freaked her out, so she went to go get Isabel. Her roommate Shamekia told her not to rely on Isabel�s tarot cards, because that wasn�t God, and it wouldn�t help about the spirit or whatever it was in her room. When Isabel came over, Shamekia talked to her about the tarot cards, but Isabel told her that she was a Christian and that if God didn�t like it, he would tell her. Shamekia didn�t know what to say to that, so she called her pastor and talked to him as Isabel went home, and he prayed with her. Then when Cynthia came back, she told Shamekia that Isabel had decided to put the cards away for a while. Then she decided to burn them. They didn�t burn easy. I was very impressed, because when I lived with her Isabel used the tarot cards all the time.

Then, this Sunday my friends found out about a pagan girl who was gathering a bunch of people, Christian, pagan, and atheist, to try to raise the spirit over Kenyon. Kenyon is known for its ghosts , and we even have tours and people who drive down to investigate. This plays on some people�s minds more than others. So some people got together and prayed that they�d be stopped. Because raising spirits is never a good idea. And they stopped it-the people decided not to do it. I was on duty in Gund, so I had no idea about any of this, but Sherry, a resident of mine last year, came to my door after midnight crying, so I hugged her, and she managed to get out some explanation of it. A bunch of the people had gathered by the coke machines in Gund, singing and praying. I�ve had a very few dealings with Pentecostals before, which is what most of the people there were, and I had never seen someone I knew before acting like Sherry was, crying and shaking. She came up to me at one point and told me what I needed to change in my spiritual life. �You know, Megan, but you forget sometimes.� I tell you, five minutes later she didn�t remember she had spoke to me. I think she was possessed by God. So yeah, lots of stuff happening here. There is a battle raging, make no mistake. And I need to choose my side and fight for it.

7:27 p.m.
prev :: next