Philothea
Life in the JVC

Records

January 05, 2003
I love just hanging out with Emerald. She's at such a fun stage. I feel bad that I don't play with her that much. She's so alone in a way. Today Brian was playing a video game, with Trevor watching, and Emerald was sitting in her chair patiently watching too. I dug up her drum from her toy chest, and she sat on Brian's back and started drumming.

Reagan high-jumped 6'4'' yesterday, breaking our high school record which had stood for 15 years, and qualifying him for States. We've never had someone go to States before. High jump is so boring to watch. That was my event in high school too, but Track and Field in general is boring, and the field events most of all. The Olympics usually shows about 30 seconds of High-Jump, the gold medal winner's winning jump. It's a very masochistic sport, because you always lose in the end. It always ends up with the height you can't clear and you end up hitting the bar. Mom and I have agreed that we're not going to let Emerald do any extra-curricular activities that we don't enjoy watching.

I was chatting with Liam yesterday about Reagan. He's a high-jumper too, and Reagan was almost beating him when Liam was a senior and he was a freshman. We were talking about high school records. Liam has the record for highest SAT score at our school (1590, he missed a question, ha-ha), Trevor has a hurdling record, and now Reagan has the high jump record. Liam asked me if I had anything. I don't think I do. I was good at several things, but I don't think I was the best ever at anything. And I'm definitely not the best at anything at Kenyon. Oh well. Liam told me that a book I gave him many years ago was the reason he became a mathematician, so I told him he'd have to split his Nobel prize money with me, and I agreed to split mine with him if I ever win one. I'm debating whether or not I'll win for peace or for literature. Decisions, decisions.

2:12 p.m.
prev :: next