Philothea
Life in the JVC

What to do for Lent

Ash Wednesday, 2004
I feel that Lent snuck up on me too. I don't know what I'm "doing" for it yet. My community is giving up swearing, and we have a swear jar. We're setting the rate at ten cents, but it may have to go down to a nickel. We'll see how we do. Every year, I know I should give up novels, but I never can do it. People always seems so impressed by how much I read, but really its sort of an addiction with me. Maybe I can give up on silly reading material, anyway, like Cosmopolitan. I've vowed never to buy that concubine's manual, but if it's in the house or library, I do pick it up.

Of course, I feel like my spiritual life has been for !@#$ this year. I hope my second year of JVC will help me with that. It's just so easy to get wrapped up in my job and community life, because they seem more pressing. Maybe I should pray the rosary three times a week or something like that. I led a spirituality night last week based on the ideas of Charles Williams. He was an Inkling (friend of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis), who believed that others could carry your burdens for you. Like if I'm very afraid about something, my friend could carry my fear for me, and since its not his fear, it would be easier for him to do. I'm not so sure how much I believe this, but I tried it out, and I think it's working a little bit. I wanted my community-mates to carry my feelings of worthlessness, especially since I'm looking at the placements for next year and thinking "Oh, I couldn't do that, I'd just mess things up." I know some of the jobs I couldn't do, but just because I can't do everything doesn't mean I can't do something.

10:48 a.m.
prev :: next