Philothea
Life in the JVC

Second day of class

January 14, 2003

Today was Classics day. First I had Religions of the Roman Empire with my new favorite Professor Serfass. There were a lot of Classics majors in the class and freshmen who we will lure into the Classics department. It looks great. It�s not going to be Christianity focused to the extent that Judaism and the polytheistic/mystery religions are just seen as foils, but he�s not going to be bashing the Christians either. Not that difficult an attitude to take, but you�d be surprised at how hard some educated people find it to give Christianity the same academic respect they would give other religions. Perhaps they find it more personally threatening. Then at lunch I realized I had an assignment due for Senior Seminar, so I read 150 pages in two hours. I�m so glad I can read really fast when I have to. The very best part about the Seminar is there is going to be food at every class. There are six people including Professor Bennett, and it meets twice a week, so every three weeks it�s our duty to bring something. Bennett brought scones and gingerbread chai. Allie and I were so happy, and the minors didn�t eat the scones, so we got seconds. Professor Bennett�s father died this break, so that was very sad news. I wanted to tell him how sorry I was, but I didn�t know exactly how to say it. Perhaps when I see him at office hours.

I finally sold my abnormal psychology textbooks. I sent out a class-stu over break and no one responded. Someone suggested I try again once people saw how expensive they were at the bookstore. So I sent out another e-mail yesterday prominently saying I was selling them for $50 when it would cost $150 at the bookstore and four people responded.
I went to Ellen�s room to give her the books, and she said �Oh, I don�t have a ten, I�ll just have to give you $60.�
�Don�t worry, I thought that might happen so I brought change,� I said. I realized after I gave her change that she was perfectly willing to give me the extra ten bucks. Darn honesty.

7:49 p.m.
prev :: next