Philothea
Life in the JVC

Christmas gifts

December 24, 2003
All December, I have been frolicking when everybody else was loaded down with packages and shopping, because I wasn't buying anybody any presents this year. Except for James, and I still haven't got him anything. I cleverly asked him if we could exchange presents in person, when we see each other in January. I guess I shouldn't feel bad, though. My family pulls names out of a hat, so I just told Mom not to put my name in this year. And Emerald has too many toys already, I don't need to contribute. Besides, she'll get lots of books from me when I see her next, courtesy of the free bookstore.

Well, I guess I did get one person a gift. We had a gift exchange before people left for home at my house. Everyone got one name (Emily and I swallowed our slips of paper so no one would see who we got), and a $10 spending limit. And the presents were all great. We know each other really well. Emily got a lot of dollar store gifts from Jon, including needles, thread, and buttons. "How did you know I wanted to learn how to sew?" she said.

"Well, the shirt you're wearing is held together by a paper clip," he said. He also got her a key ring because she keeps forgetting her key.

I got a box of chocolate and Terry Pratchett books from Emily. I had Jon, so I got him Casablanca, and just for fun, $1 hair extensions from a place called Magic Town. Michelle gave Chris a teddy bear, because he always wants to "spoon", and nobody in the house ever takes him up on his offer.

Michelle got a heavy duty cheese grater, because she eats cheddar cheese at dinner every day, and she always struggles to cut the huge block with a knife. And Beth got a coffee mug and some Dunkin' Donuts coffee from Chris.

Have a very merry Christmas. I'll be working, but I should have fun there too.

10:05 a.m.
prev :: next