Philothea
Life in the JVC

Wounded soldier

November 23, 2004

I kept hearing our phone ringing late last night and early morning, but I figured it couldn't be for me because all my friends and family are on the East Coast and it would be way too late for them to call. Then this morning, I found out that the calls were from Baghdad. Our friend's brother Catcher had been wounded in Fallujah, and he couldn't get through to any of his family, so he was calling us to pass the message along that he was wounded, but he was okay. He remembered our phone number because he married a former JV a few years ago, and has a son with her. I don't know what happened, but I guess he can't be in critical condition if he could call.

Which reminds me that today is the day my father starts his mobilization. He's staying in the United States, just being called up full-time from the Reserves to work on preparing the soldiers for their tour overseas. I feel guilty being so glad that he's not going to Iraq. Of course it will still be hard on my mother having him away, and I don't know what his job will be thinking, as this is the second time he's been called up in the last three years. But they can't fire him, its against the law.

Please pray for all the soldiers overseas, that God keep them safe.

10:59 a.m.
prev :: next