Philothea
Life in the JVC

The Thief

May 01, 2005

The Thief was in church again today, this time with his family. It still makes me uncomfortable being in the same place with him, though by rights, he should be the uncomfortable one. And forgiveness is a good thing, but he�s never asked for mine. He still hasn�t admitted that he did it. I don�t expect him to give me the money back; I�m sure its long gone and the priests gave me a check because they felt it was their fault for trusting him with access to our key. But an apology would be nice. How am I supposed to forget that it happened? I would like to just go right up to him and tell him flat out that I know what he did and I think it was a horrible thing to do. But small town-I know his relatives and his daughter will be in Donna�s class next year. Everyone�s covering for him.

After church, he came up to Donna and said in a joking way that she better be nice to his daughter next year, or else. We had the locks changed, you jerk. I�m not scared of him physically doing anything; I think it was just the temptations and the opportunity that caused him to steal from us. Addictions will make you do horrible things, but it still doesn�t make it right. Is it so bad to want an acknowledgement that he�s sorry? It was only $40, but that was all I had in the world, and I had worked hard to save it from my $80 a month stipend. Christ would tell me to let it go. Waiting for an apology gives power to the person you�re waiting on. It keeps me tied to him in a way. I will try to work on it. I don�t really want to make a big scene.

4:36 p.m.
prev :: next