Philothea
Life in the JVC

A Sudden Death

January 27, 2004
Baltimore is weird. We only got 10 inches of snow and the entire city shut down. And this is the second day too. The JVs from Raleigh couldn't make it back from the retreat, so they stayed in Michelle's room last night.

When we got back, there were two messages from my mother because she's crazy and forgot I'd be gone, and one from my boss. I started to complain that she probably wanted me to come into work that night when I had just got home. But when I called her, I found out that one of my residents died Monday morning. She was our newest resident, and she went to the hospital last week because she was refusing to eat. It was very sudden.

"Your job kind of sucks sometimes," Beth said.

I don't know what more we could have done for her, but I wish there had been something. The reason she was so depressed was mostly because her daughter and her had a falling out, and she missed her so much. I'm sure her daughter wasn't reconciled to her before she died, and now it's too late. Even when someone has AIDS, death comes unexpectedly sometimes.

1:21 p.m.
prev :: next