Philothea
Life in the JVC

Stars

December 14, 2004
Today, eating breakfast with the 2nd graders, one of them asked me, "Are you an Indian?"

"No," I said.

"Are you a cowgirl?"

"No, I don't even have the boots or the hat," I said.

"Are you Cree?"

"No, Crees are Indians too. I'm Irish."

"Say something in Irish," she demanded.

"Um, Erin Go Bragh," I said. She was satisfied with that, luckily.

I drove the three hours to Billings on Saturday to pick up my friend Amy who's visiting for a week. I drove through a total of Two (2) towns on the way there. Once I got to Billings I acted like quite a hick, driving really slow so I could look at all the stores. I was a three hour drive there and back.

Amy was quite tired, because her flight was delayed and she had to spend four hours in Denver. It was so dark on the road home. I got to feel a real sense of bonding with the car driving in front of me, as we were the only two cars in the world. There were shooting stars in the sky, and I had to pull over so I could get out of the car and look at the sky. So many stars, just piling on top of each other, the lords of the universe, and I was a small creature in the cold wind. I felt a connection to my ancestors and how they must have seen the night sky, without streetlights and smog. The sky is beautiful at the mission too, but we have the Little Rockies behind us to cut off the sky somewhat. Stopping made me lose my friend car, so it was just Amy and me.

4:37 p.m.
prev :: next