Philothea
Life in the JVC

Snow Day

January 12, 2005
Almost as good as my Five minute work day last year. We all stayed up late last night and only half-heartedly prepared for school because we were expecting a "freeze" day. Its supposed to be -30 today, with the windchill making it -50. But when we woke up it was 15 degrees above (too warm!). So we went in. But then just as I was seeing my first student, I heard a commotion in the hallway, and Sr. Helen said we were sending all the kids home. The temperature was dropping precipitously, and the police had already closed one road down.

So now I have a free day! This is great. I only had one snow day in college, and it was when I had the flu, so it didn't count. This week our simplicity challenge is no TV, so I'll have to think of other things to do. I've started to play my clarinet again, and Maureen has started to make a quilt. So the lack of outside activities is starting to take an effect on our activities.

9:52 a.m.
prev :: next