Philothea
Life in the JVC

Shift work

May 06, 2004
Let me tell you why shift work sucks. I was working 3pm-11pm tomorrow. So that means I have all morning and some of the afternoon off. I feel like I should be doing something with that time, but usually I sleep until noon when given the chance. And even when I do wake up early (early being 9 a.m. for me), I never have enough time before work and I just watch in horror as the hours go by like miles on the Autobahn.

Then I was working 7-3 today. So I knew once I got back from work that I should go right to sleep so I could get at least seven hours before going back in. But its hard to go right to sleep when I just got off a shift. I need to decompress a little, write in my diary, have a snack. At least now its not dark out when I wake up. Then, very tired, I have to go back in, and I just had an incident the night before with a resident, and now I have to face him bright and early in the morning. But he stayed in his room mostly, so we never had a confrontation.

But now I have four sweet days of retreat, and a day off after that. This is the JV spirituality retreat, and its silent, for one whole day at least. I'm looking forward to it. But they told us to only bring religious books and leave novels, magazines, secular music, etc. behind. That will be tough.

4:49 p.m.
prev :: next