Philothea
Life in the JVC

Drink up me hearties, yo ho

August 06, 2003
Whee! I have rum, a nice big bottle of rum. Let me explain. I went to the mall with James a few weeks ago and saw that my old high school buddies who worked at the survey place were still working there. Brigid asked if I wanted to take a survey, but I said we were watching a movie in 30 minutes. Then she said she had one that paid $50, and all I'd have to do is lie and say I drank rum in the last 30 days. My friends are so bad, they always used to have me lie in high school and say I was 18 when they needed people. But then the manager never checked i.d. or anything, so I guess they didn't really care.

So tomorrow I'm going to a taste test at a vineyard, and my designated driver gets 10 bucks for bringing me, too. But I'd rather be drunk than be a liar, and I wanted to know what rum tasted like before I went in to the survey tomorrow. And it's what pirates drink. So I have now purchased alcohol and been in a liquor store. Too bad I didn't do it when I was 21, because there's really nothing exciting about buying rum when you're 22.

I spent the day with James today. We went to the George Eastman museum because I've never been and it's supposed to be one of the best photography museums in the world. It should be, since Eastman started Kodak. They had an exhibit of Steve McCurry's photographs, and I saw a documentary on his search for "the Afghan girl". When they found her again, she said that the cover of the National Geographic was the only time she had ever had her picture taken. It's so amazing to me that this one picture touched so many people and inspired them to help refugees.

Tomorrow James is going to an anime convention with his sister, and then on Monday he's leaving for Korea. It's a good thing I have the bottle to turn to, because I'm going to be so sad when he leaves. Of course, I'm leaving 3 days later, so I'll probably be too busy packing to really miss him.

10:51 p.m.
prev :: next