Philothea
Life in the JVC

Roller-skating

November 12, 2004
I got a thank-you note from one of my 6th graders thanking "Miss Raftied" for being a great "readen" teacher. Hmm...maybe I should be a spelling teacher instead. I love the kids here. Elementary students are so full of love. Every time I see the 1st graders in the hall they all run up to me and give me hugs.

We had a roller skating night for the kids on Tuesday, an hour for K-3 and an hour for 4-6. The roller skates are really old school-they look like shoes with wheels at the bottom, but they're in good condition still. It was a massacre with the little kids. I thought for sure we'd have to send someone home with a broken limb, but they all pulled through. And one Kindergartner was "helping" people, but really just causing them to fall. And then the 6th grade boys all came, but they didn't skate, because they were too busy watching their girlfriends to make sure they didn't skate with another boy. As it was, all four couples broke up that night anyway. I don't think their relationships ever last past a week, and consist of sitting next to each other on the bus and talking to each other.

Here are some cool last names of people in town:
Cuts the Rope
Longknife
Kicking Woman
Has the Eagle
Walking Eagle
Blackwolf
Blackcrow
Talks Different
Snow
Iron Man
Horse Capture
The Boy
Weasel(That's a Crow name)
Longtime Sleeping

I'll add more as I think of them or meet new people.

1:55 p.m.
prev :: next