Philothea
Life in the JVC

The Prom

June 01, 2004
A few weeks ago, Matthew asked me, "So, do you want to go to prom with me?"

"Sure," I said, thinking he was joking. But then I remembered that he worked at a high school. So I went to prom on Friday, the same day that Reagan was going to his. It's odd to think that five years ago I was at my Senior Ball and now I'm dating a teacher.

I wore the prom dress that I borrowed from Gretchen in November. The prom was at the Belvedere, which you might have seen in the HBO movie Something the Lord Made that just was on. It was very swank. As we walked in, one of the girls gasped and said "That's Mr. Barnes's woman!" He introduced us, and she said "Is this the one you talk about every day?"

But, as with most fancy events, I enjoyed dressing up for it more than being there, so Matt and I ducked out early and danced in his apartment.

I've been thinking about Montana a lot lately, and all the conveniences that I will miss being in the middle of nowhere next year. And I'll miss Matthew a whole lot too. But it's a great adventure, and I know I want to spend the rest of my life with him, so ten months isn't a lot in the grand scheme of things.

1:58 p.m.
prev :: next