Philothea
Life in the JVC

People falling left and right

2002-09-28
I've got to go soon and talk to a freshman about lectoring before mass. I miss just being able to go to mass, and not have to get dressed up that much because no one would be looking at me, and not worry about everyone scheduled forgetting to come.

Eight months until I leave this place. Eight months until I'm back to civilian life. It's scary to think I'll be leaving all my friends, but most of them are leaving before me. Amy and Tom are going abroad second semester, and then what will I do? I don't think I've ever written about Tom here before, but I adore him. He's the one that started me on G.K. Chesterton, and the only person who can make me fall out of my chair laughing, and that with regularity. He loves a joke, but he's so kind when he's arguing with someone. I came on him and a girl discussing the role of the pope in the holocaust, a sensitive subject especially when one is Catholic and the other Jewish. But he never disrespected her feelings or arguments, just set out the facts he knew. That impressed me greatly. So all the people above me are already gone, and now the people below me are leaving, leaving me with James and some more distant friends.

I'm rereading Bradbury's short stories now. They are so good. "The Wonderful Ice Cream Suit" is my favorite, if I can pick a favorite.

4:45 p.m.
prev :: next