Philothea
Life in the JVC

Potty training

July 10, 2003
10 years ago, we adopted two kittens from the humane society. They were four months old, and they knew how to use the litter box.

Human young, on the other hand, are not so well trained. We started Emerald on potty training on Tuesday. Mom bought 12 panties that are something less than pull-ups because those feel just like a diaper, but something more than just cotton. We've already gone through the whole set. And Emerald peed on me Tuesday. She climbed up on my lap with her bottle, and at first I thought her bottle was leaking, but then I realized, "Its warm. Its WARM!"

I don't think I'm going to make it. I'm a wreck by the time Mom comes home at one. And add to that Emerald is demanding Barney tapes every hour, and only Barney. She won't even watch our Disney tapes. Why, when I was her age, we didn't have your DVDs or those fancy VCRs. I watched Romper Room and I liked it! One strange thing I noticed from watching Barney credits is that the kids have different names on the show than they do in real life. I wonder why they do that, because they're surely not acting. Michael and Corey are called "Juan" and "Carlos", so maybe they try to diversify? "I'm sorry, Mike, you can't have an Anglo name when you're clearly Mexican."

Em is trying really hard on this potty training. She looks over the potty book with such a look of determination, and she wants to sit on the potty all the time. So I hope this training will be over soon. Or this combined with Barney will drive me insane.

9:59 a.m.
prev :: next