Philothea
Life in the JVC

Suspicious minds

April 03, 2005
Things with Matthew got off to a rocky start. I went to Billings to pick him up, and we went to Mass because it was Holy Thursday. Fr. John came up to introduce himself, and I told him I was a JV in Hays, and this was my friend Matthew. Older people always refer to my boyfriends as "friends", so I thought that was the correct thing to do.

But Matthew was miffed. then he tried to put his arm around me and I told him to cut it out. I hate it when people canoodle in church, and he did that at Christmas too, in front of everybody. "I'm sorry," I said. "I just don't feel right having PDA's in church."

Well, I'm sorry, but I came all this way just to see you," He shot back. I just shut up after that, I was too mad at him. How dare he try to emotionally blackmail me into something I don't want to do? But, from his perspective, I was being distant, calling him friend and not wanting to touch him. So since then I've introduced him to everyone as my boyfriend.

Then it was 8:30 p.m. and I hadn't eaten in 9 hours. I asked Matthew where he wanted to go, and he said he didn't care. but every place I suggested he shot down. He wanted steak, but I couldn't find won, and he kept asking me why I didn't know the place. Actually, I've only been there twice before. We went to Wendy's and I cheered up considerably after eating a hamburger.

As we were driving back from Wendy's, I saw a Jake's steakhouse downtown. If you really love me Matthew, you won't say a word, I thought to myself. And he didn't.

On Friday, my housemates planned to really hit the town. We were going to go to the pizza place, movie theater, and bowling alley in Harlem. But once we got there, we found out that the movie was a kid movie about a dog, so we ditched it. Tim showed up at the pizza place with Travis, a relation of his.

On to bowling, where Matthew beat me by a lot both times. Then he said he was tired and wanted to go home. Donna was all knowing smiles at that. She says she wants to live vicariously through me.

I still wanted to drink and introduce my boyfriend to Jon, so we stopped by the gas station. Jon shook Matthew's hand and said he'd heard a lot about him. "Good." Matthew said. Matthew said he doesn't really mind me having guy friends, but I think this night proves that he does. I wish he would have been nicer to my friends, stayed at the bar and had a few drinks with them that night.

On the way back, Matthew asked me how old Aaron Neederigitrigirigiriger was. 30, same age as him. I didn't realize it at the time, but I think he was jealous of Aaron, of all people. I mean, really. It was a tense ride back. I put in Elvis and sang "Suspicious Minds" to him.

Then we got home and argued for a few hours, and I think understood each other's positions better. I know he has to trust me a lot, since I'm 2,000 miles away this year. And I haven't done anything to betray that trust. He says he doesn't trust the other guys intentions, and that's why he wants me to stay away. Which is first off untrue, because every guy in 100 mile radius wants Donna, and secondly very paternalistic. I think we felt better. I'm sure my housemates thought we were back home having fun when really we were arguing. But after our fighting, we kissed and made up.

6:37 p.m.
prev :: next