Philothea
Life in the JVC

The new phone books are here!

May 13, 2005
Like Ahab, I have come to believe that the color of the world is white. Yes, it snowed here yesterday. And sure enough, five miles outside of Hays it wasn't snowing. We always have our own weather here.

The new phone book came in the mail yesterday. The section that was the towns of Hays, Lodgepole, Zortman and Landusky comprised all of five pages. We are a small town surrounded by even smaller towns. Landusky and Zortman are ghost towns. They're right off the reservation and were the mining towns. But now that the mine is no more (thank God), there aren't many people still there.

I have a problem in the morning that I'd like to share. Whenever I'm looking for black socks in the morning, I can never tell if the pair I have is black or blue. I'll put them next to my black pants, but I still can't tell. But later in the day, I look down and see that I chose the wrong pair and I've been wearing obviously blue socks all day. I need to get a stronger light in my bedroom for the morning.

12:46 p.m.
prev :: next