Philothea
Life in the JVC

Labor Day Party

August 31, 2003
Last night we had our Labor Day party. We invited all the Jesuit Volunteer Communities on the East Coast, and about 35 people came, from as far away as Raleigh and Syracuse. We bought a half keg and some wine, and people brought a lot of stuff too. At about 11, Jon left with some of the Syracuse women to get more "provisions", and they came back with 5 cases of beer when 2 would have done. Which goes to show you you shouldn't buy beer while drunk.

Our theme was cross-dressing 70s rock stars. Emily and I got the costumes at the thrift store since the guys were going to D.C. to pick up the JVs there. Jon looked fetching in a peach gown, and he enthusiastically gave himself D cups. Chris wanted to be Stevie Nicks, so we got him a nice black pantsuit, but he ripped it when he put his arms through. He just put a black t-shirt underneath and borrowed a scarf from me to wrap around his waist so he could leave something to the imagination. Emily was Sid Vicious, and I wasn't anyone in particular, but I found a really nice hideous purple vest to wear.

Jon knew that I hated parties and crowds, and longwindedly told me how proud he was that I was talking to people and having a good time. I mostly stayed out on the porch away from the drinking games. I talked to Andy, the LaSallian volunteer from Jon's school and a random neighbor. I stayed around until about 11:30, then I tried to go to bed because James was calling at 8 a.m. the next day (9 p.m. his time). It was so loud that I couldn't get to sleep until 2. I was relieved that the house was still standing when I woke up. I had to step over five people sleeping in the foyer when I went to get the phone in the morning.

Everybody is still hanging out at the house, so I've been out most of the day. I was good at the party, but now I just want to have everyone leave the house. I went to the free bookstore today, which was bliss. They have a poor science fiction collection, but everything else is quite good. I got eleven books for zero dollars. Now I'm at Hopkins pretending to be a college student. Today is their freshmen convocation, so I see lots of students and parents wandering around. It's hard to believe I was one of them three months ago.

3:45 p.m.
prev :: next