Philothea
Life in the JVC

Montana next year?

April 15, 2004
I'm glad I took the weekend to think over doing JVC for a second year. I had a really good talk with Beth and it made me realize that I am being called to do it, and furthermore to be in the Northwest. I followed this feeling last year and this has been the happiest year of my life, so I'm going to do it.

My interviewer Tom was very happy to hear that and he said he had a position that he thought would match me well. And it was my first choice for a job, too! It's a reading tutor in a K-6 school on a reservation in the middle of nowhere, Montana. The town is smaller than Gambier, and the JVs keep their community money in a coffee can since there's no bank. It's more isolated than anywhere in Alaska, which makes me happy. My mother sounded really excited for me too, which surprised me. But she's studying to be a special ed teacher, so she was giving me all this advice about what I should read up on before August. I still need to interview with the principal of the school before I know I have the job. I hope she likes me. I know I don't have the credentials or experience for it. I have a degree in English, but I'm not sure how much reading Moby Dick is going to help me teach little kids how to read. But I am really passionate about this, and I would throw myself into this job. So the principal is going to call me sometime this week or early next week, and then I'll know if I'm going to Montana in August.

Tuesday everything I touched turned to gold. I woke up and checked my mailbox, only to find that I had won two tickets to see the Manhattan Transfer! And it was for that night! So I called up Father Willy and asked if he wanted to go, since we had just talked about how much we liked them on Sunday, but I found out that he's out of town every Tuesday. Then I asked Beth, but she's studying for the MCAT on Saturday (she's so stressed out that she's stressing me out). So Matthew said he'd go with me, even though he doesn't like that type of music that much, but he does like spending time with me. We were in row Z, but that was actually pretty good seats. And the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall is simply gorgeous. I was looking around open-mouthed. We were the youngest people there by 10 years, or 17 in my case. I don't think Matthew is too old for me, or that I'm really even aware that he's seven years older than me most of the time, but when we talk about our childhoods then it really seems strange. We were talking about presidential elections the other day, and he said the first one he could really remember was the 1980 election, and I said "Don't remember that one...I wasn't born yet." It's so great that I've been able to win tickets to see Chicago and The Manhattan Transfer this year. Next year there will definitely not be the opportunities for free stuff that I have in Baltimore.

So things are going really well with Matthew. Too well. I'm taking a break from seeing him yesterday and today because I'm really feeling swept off my feet and I need to catch my breath.

12:21 p.m.
prev :: next