Philothea
Life in the JVC

Magistri

November 16, 2002
Yesterday Allie and I skipped the senior dinner to go have dinner with Dr. and Mrs. Serfass. They�re living in Drs. Laycock and Carson�s house while they�re running the Exeter program this year. They�re taking care of the dogs, too. Laycock�s dogs are beautiful. They�re some kind of husky with blue eyes. Serfass and his wife are very nice. He�s always interested to hear us talk, and since he�s in the same position as a freshman we were filling him in on all the gossip. We spent three hours there, eating good food and drinking good wine, and then walked back together. I like talking to Allie, which is a good thing, since we�re the only senior majors. She�s incredibly smart; a polyglot who knows Greek, Latin, Sanskrit and German, but she�s also so nice you can�t resent her for it. And she has red hair. We all know I like red hair.

Then I stopped by the post office and I saw Bill McCulloh there. He�s the Greek professor who retired just before I got here, but he still knows my name. I told him nobody loved me because I didn�t get any mail. �Oh, well you can have some of mine,� he said. �Let me see, my wife won�t let me give away The New Yorker, but you can have this environmental newsletter and this catalog.�

I feel so loved.

11:02 p.m.
prev :: next