Philothea
Life in the JVC

lovely surprises

2002-09-30
Last night I was at odds with the world, working in my carrel until I heard the nerd bell, walking home at 2 a.m. with not nearly enough done, and sick to boot. I went up the steps of Gund and I saw the cooking supplies I had lent James on Friday outside my door. He didn�t even leave a note on my board, I grumbled. I really wanted to call him and tell him about the low mood I was in, but it was too late, and I needed all the sleep I could get myself. When I picked up the container and looked inside, there were chocolate chip cookies! He had made them for me. How sweet. My mood lifted immediately and I danced down the hall to give some to the 2nd floor Loungers.

Then I woke up today as sick as ever, and I decided I had to miss class today, resolutions or no. I called Serfass and told him I was sick, and he e-mailed Allie and said he was sick too, so would we mind postponing class. It�s so nice to be in a class with only two people. The English department is a cold bureaucracy, however, so I still had to type up my comps proposal and get ready for my Gilded Age exam tomorrow. I went to the health center and read some magazines today, so I�m sure I�ll get better now. Shermer did look at me for 15 seconds and prescribe some expectorants, but I don�t think they�ll help much.

Every time I step into my carrel I feel like I'm going into a confessional.
"Forgive me father, for I have sinned. It's been 4 days since I last carreled."
"And why is that, my child?"
"Oh, impure thoughts, impure acts (though not as many as I has hoped), oversleeping, doing things I didn't really want to do because my friends were doing it, and all around laziness."
"For penance I assign you six straight hours in the carrel. Now go and slack no more."

7:35 p.m.
prev :: next