Philothea
Life in the JVC

Letters

July 08, 2003
James called me today and I told him what I wrote here yesterday. He said he remembered what I had said six months ago about long distance relationships, and he knew from experience that they had a lot of difficulties, but "things have changed". He wants me to help him learn how to write good letters so I can be happy when he's in Korea.

The fine art of letter-writing is almost dead. I like writing letters, and most of my friends tolerate this eccentricity. For Ann, of course, it's the only way to reach her now that she's at the monastery, and she told me that she knew that she would never hear from some of her friends because they don't know how to write. I have horrible penmanship; but the most important thing is to get something down on paper.

So I will try to help James. This whole "eloquence" thing has been a bit of a problem. But I did get him to open up where now we can talk quite easily and he's good at giving me compliments, so I hope we can work this out too. I don't want a poet or anything-one English major in a relationship is probably more than enough. I just want him.

11:23 p.m.
prev :: next