Philothea
Life in the JVC

I got in!

April 30, 2004
I had my interview yesterday with Sr. Helen, the principal of the school. She sounds great, from New York City, but she's been out there for 24 years now. It sounds like everyone in the school needs to be hands-on. She doesn't have a secretary, so she said that when she's not in the office, the phone just rings and rings. And she likes to come in early when the kids are eating breakfast because the kindergarteners have trouble cutting up the french toast.

It wasn't a real interview. She just sounded happy that I would agree to come out there. There really is nothing in the town besides the school. At least at Kenyon we had the bookstore and the Village Market. There's one store, but it just sells snacks. And we can see mountains in the distance, and a canyon nearby to hike in.

And in the best news for me and Matthew, it's only a nine and a half month position rather than a year. Because once the school closes there's nothing else in the town to do. So that's the best of both worlds-I do a second year of JVC, but I get to be back with Matthew for the summer.

I'm so excited. I know that it's going to be a lot of work, and some of the kid's stories will be heartbreaking, but I'm ready to throw myself into this. There won't be any distractions around, that's for sure.

12:06 p.m.
prev :: next